Many people look forward to getting a driving license. It signals independence and is a hint of maturity for minors. Can you get your license at 18 without a permit? This is a common question among individuals seeking a driving license.
Whether you need a permit or not depends on your state. Each state has laws regarding license issuing, and some require you to have a permit.
The permit, in this case, refers to the learner’s permits issued to teenage drivers before they graduate to an intermediate driving license. Read on to learn more about getting a driving license without a permit.
Is It Possible to Get a License At 18 Without A Permit?
As mentioned earlier, getting a license if you are 18 without a permit depends on where you live. Furthermore, other factors come into play, such as your nationality and whether you have any impairment, like in the case of deaf drivers.
Let us look at the situation in different states and how to go about getting your license.
How Do You Get Your License At 18 In Texas?
The Texas Department of Public Safety is responsible for issuing licenses in Texas. As an 18-year-old Texan, you can get a license valid for eight years if you meet the set requirements.
The requirements include US citizenship or evidence of lawful presence if you are not a US citizen. You also need to prove your Texas residency and provide your identity and social security number.
You must provide proof of current vehicle registration and insurance if you own a car. Additionally, you need evidence of completion of driver education, including Impact Texas Driver, an informational video about driving, and the dangers of negligence on the road.
With all the requirements in order, you must schedule an appointment with a driver’s license office near you. Provide all the necessary documents for processing, which also involve taking a photo, providing thumbprints, and paying an application fee. You must pass the driving and vision tests.
If you are a new Texas resident, you can use your valid license from other US states or Canadian provinces for 90 days. You must apply for a Texas driving license before the grace period elapses.
Can I get my license at 18 without a permit in Texas? You don’t need a learner’s permit once you are 18 to get your license. If you are 18 to 24 years old, you will have to take a 6-hour driver’s education course.
Do You Need a Permit If You Are 18 In California?
The California Department of Motor Vehicles is a state authority that issues driving licenses and registration of motor vehicles. Can I get my license at 18 without a permit in California? You need a permit before getting a California license, regardless of your age.
All new drivers require a learner’s permit before they get behind the wheel. You will use the permit for at least six months before getting a driving license.
You should apply for a provisional instruction permit if you reside in California. The requirements are:
- At least 18 years old at the time of application
- A completed driving license application
- A scheduled appointment
You visit the DMV office for the appointment, pay an application fee, pass a vision and knowledge tests, and take photos.
Do You Need a Permit to Drive At 18 In Illinois?
You can commence your journey to owning a driving license when you turn 15 if you reside in Illinois. Between 15 and 18 years, you will use a learner’s permit. You don’t need a driving permit in the state if you are older than 18. As an adult, you only need to take a 6-hour driver’s course and pass the test.
How Do I Get My License At 18 In Minnesota?
Minnesota’s Division of Driver and Vehicle under the Department of Public Safety issues driving licenses. The state has a Graduated Driver’s Licensing (GDL) system that guides novice drivers into the driving environment. Applicants under 18 years require a 6-month instruction permit before taking a road test.
Can you get your license at 18 without a permit in Minnesota? Driving license applicants older than 18 should have a permit for a minimum of three months before taking a road test.
Applying for a license after 18 in Minnesota is subject to several requirements. You should be clean of traffic convictions, such as alcohol and controlled substance violations. You apply for the licenses and pay the required processing fees. Additionally, you must pass a vision and written tests.
Can I Get My License At 18 Without Driver’s Ed in Texas?
Texas laws require anyone between 18-25 years old to take a driver’s education course before they get a driving license. The driver’s education is a 6-hour course offered by approved driving schools.
Individuals over 25 years do not need a certification from the driver’s ed course to get a license. They can apply for an over 25 learner’s permit at the Department of Public Safety. In such a scenario, you must take knowledge, vision, and hearing tests before going for a road test.
Can An 18-Year-Old Practice Driving Without a Permit In Texas?
If you are 18 and above in Texas, you can practice driving under a licensed driver on private property. However, you need a learner’s permit to practice on public roads. A driver over 21 years with a Texas license must accompany you as you test your driving skills.
Can I Get My License Without a Permit in California?
You must hold a learner’s permit for at least six months before getting a California license. Moreover, you must provide proof of driver education and training. The license application process requires you to schedule a test via the Department of Motor Vehicles’ website or by calling the offices.
Can You Drive by Yourself At 18 In California?
California has strict teen driving laws, which can be quite confusing. You can drive by yourself in California if you have a provisional license issued chiefly to individuals aged 16 to 18.
There are several restrictions to abide by if you have a provisional license. For instance, you can only drive by yourself between 5 am and 11 pm. You can only drive between 11 pm and 5 pm if accompanied by an adult who is over 25.
Once you reach 18, the provisional license restrictions will no longer apply to you. You can drive as a licensed driver.
Can An 18-Year-Old Drive Alone in California?
California’s teen driving laws have several restrictions, such as hours of driving and passengers the teen driver can carry. As an underage driver, you should drive between 5 am and 11 pm, and you cannot carry passengers under 20 years old.
These laws won’t apply to you once you clock 18. However, if it is your very first driving license, you will need the company of someone over 18 years old with a valid driver’s license.
How Long Does An 18-Year-Old Have to Hold a Permit In Illinois?
The validity of an Illinois learner’s permit varies depending on the applicant’s age. If you are under 18, you will be issued a permit that is valid for two years. On the other hand, if you are over 18, the permit is valid for a year. Please note that if you are 17 years and three months or older, you don’t have to take a driver’s education course when applying for a permit.
Can I Get My License At 18 Without A Permit in Minnesota?
Getting a permit is the first step in working your way to a driving license. In Minnesota, you will need a permit even if you are over 18, though it does not come with the tough restrictions for applicants under 18. You must hold the learner’s permit for at least three months to qualify for a driving license.
Can you get your license at 18 without a permit? The situation depends on your state or territory. As we can learn from this discussion, you don’t need a permit to get a license in states like Texas once you are over 18 years. Nonetheless, states like Minnesota and California require you to have a permit before getting a license, regardless of your age.
A learner’s permit has several rules, particularly if you are under 18. You must abide by the rules to make it easier to get your license. Check with your state’s body in charge of issuing driving licenses to know about the requirements.